Declaration of the Jakarta Special Ministerial Meeting for Millennium Development Goals Review in Asia and the Pacific: Run Up To 2015 Jakarta, 4 August 2010

 8/4/2010

DECLARATION OF THE JAKARTA
SPECIAL MINISTERIAL MEETING

FOR MILLENIUM DEVELOPMENT GOALS REVIEW IN ASIA AND THE PACIFIC:

RUN UP TO 2015

Jakarta, 4 August 2010

Introduction

We, the Ministers and representatives from countries of Asia and the Pacific, gathered in Jakarta, Indonesia from 3 – 4 August 2010 to attend the Regional Special Ministerial Meeting for Millennium Development Goals Review in Asia and the Pacific: Run Up to 2015, in which representatives of relevant international and civil society organizations also took part.

1.         We welcome the efforts and progress since the Ministerial Regional Meeting on MDGs in Asia and the Pacific: The Way Forward 2015, Jakarta, 3-5 August 2005, while remaining concerned that the region is still vulnerable to setbacks in achieving them.

2.         We look forward to the convening of the High Level Plenary Meeting of the 65th Session of the General Assembly on the Millennium Development Goals in New York, 20 – 22 September, 2010, which will focus on accelerating progress towards the achievement of all the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) by 2015.

3.         We recognize that the international and regional context has changed in profound ways since we committed to the MDGs in 2000, as an integrated and coherent approach to development. There has been progress in some areas of the MDGs, but there are also areas where progress has been slow and may only expect to meet these targets after 2015. We therefore commit to reinvigorate our efforts towards the achievement of all the MDGs. We underscore the urgent needs for Asia and the Pacific to intensify collective action, to overcome current and emerging challenges and make use of opportunities to meeting the MDGs at regional level and contribute to attainment of the goals at the global level.

4.         We recognize that parts of Asia and the Pacific region have registered strong economic growth for the past decade, greatly contributing to global growth. Despite the positive economic performance, the region is not recording the same strong progress on all the MDGs targets. Disparities between and within countries and goals in the region still exist. We resolve to address the extreme poverty of the 900 million people that reside in Asia and the Pacific, in order to create a just and prosperous region.

5.         We emphasize the need for stronger regional cooperation and architecture, to build the region’s resilience to future crises, and bolster the capacity of countries in the region to achieve the MDGs.

6.         We recognize that our commonalities and diversity gives strengths to the region, and reaffirm our solidarity amongst the countries in Asia and the Pacific region. We therefore emphasize the critical importance to strengthen regional and global partnership for development and cooperation in the achievement of the MDGs, particularly assisting those having difficulties in achieving the MDGs.

7.         We reaffirm the role of cooperation, including between developed and developing countries, South-South cooperation, and through triangular cooperation, in the overall context of regional partnership in achieving the MDGs.

8.         We acknowledge that good governance and the rule of law at the national and international levels are essential for sustained economic growth, sustainable development and the eradication of poverty and hunger.

9.         We reaffirm the universality, indivisibility, interdependence and interrelatedness of all human rights.


Review of the current situation

We recognize that Asia and the Pacific as a whole have made progress on some of the MDGs.

10.      We however acknowledge that there are disparities between sub-region and country groupings, as well as between countries and within countries in the achievement of MDGs. In some countries, the progress is slower in rural areas than in urban areas.

11.      We welcome the progress made in the region to eradicate poverty and hunger, however we remain concerned that the region is still home to the majority of the world population living on less than $1.25 per day. We are also concerned that even slower progress is being made in reducing hunger. We emphasize that to solve the hunger problem we must address the interconnected challenges of food insecurity, malnutrition, poor healthcare, adverse and unfair agriculture market conditions, weak infrastructure and environmental degradation. 

12.      We are encouraged to see advances in universal primary education, with 90% primary school enrolment ratio, and in reducing gender disparities in education. We also welcome the positive progress being made on combating the spread of HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, and other infectious diseases.

13.      We express grave concern however over the slow progress being made on reducing new born, child and maternal mortality. We underline the need to increase efforts to strengthen the health system including health infrastructure, increase public health spending, and reduce out-of-pocket expenditure on health.

14.      We note with appreciation the efforts of the Secretary-General to improve the health of women and children, including with regard to a joint action plan.

15.      We acknowledge the need to intensify efforts to provide basic sanitation, clean water and enhance environmental sustainability, including reducing biodiversity loss, deforestation and desertification. Environmental damage hampers the achievement of other MDGs in particular poverty targets as it hits the poor the hardest, including women and children.

16.      We recognize that lack of access to infrastructure services, as well as low social spending and protection coverage due to the lack of financial resources and ODA has been one of the main causes of gaps and variation in the MDGs in Asia and the Pacific.

17.      We express concern of the adverse impact on the achievement of the MDGs in the region resulting from the multiple inter-related global crises including the financial and economic crisis, the food and energy prices volatility as well as climate change. These recent series of crises has not only added to the impediments to achieving the MDGs by 2015, but most importantly they have the potential to reverse the positive progress that has been made on poverty, health and education, as well as having human costs that have serious development consequences.

18.      We stress that our common regional emphasis to reach the goals from now to 2015, requires Asia and the Pacific countries to work in solidarity stepping up efforts through focused MDGs programs and projects.   We will use the experiences, best practices and lessons learned of the past ten years to meet the new and emerging challenges and obstacles. 

19.      We acknowledge the crucial contribution of regional and sub-regional frameworks for cooperation inter-alia the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), the Ayeyawady - Chao Phraya - Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS), Mekong-Japan Cooperation, The Mekong River Commission (MRC), Mekong-Ganga Cooperation (MGC), Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC), South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), Greater Mekong Sub-region (GMS), Pacific Islands Forum (PIF), Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO), in order to strengthen national efforts in the achievement of MDGs by 2015.


Way forward

We recognize that each country has primary responsibility for its own economic and social development, and for achieving MDGs nationally; meanwhile national development efforts need to be supported by an enabling international environment, taking into account national priorities and strategies based on national leadership and ownership.  We support in this regard appropriate active involvement of relevant stakeholders wherever necessary. We therefore call for the strengthening of partnerships between all these stakeholders.

20.  We recognize that a conducive international environment, including supportive global programmes, measures, policies and financial architecture and trading system aimed at maximizing the development opportunities for developing countries are essential for the success of national efforts for development and achieving MDGs.

21.  We affirm our determination to enhance regional financial stability through regional initiatives such as the Chiang-Mai Initiative Multilateralisation (CMIM), Asian Bond Market Initiatives, and Asian Bond Fund Initiative (ABF).  We reiterate the importance of a more balanced international financial architecture, and at the same time, call for enhanced inclusive participation in the process of the ongoing reforms of International Financial Institutions.

22.  We emphasize the need to step-up efforts to promote regional connectivity, especially infrastructure and ICT development with a view to narrowing the development gap, promoting human development, and accelerate the progress to achieving the MDGs in the region.

23.  We emphasize the central role of universal access to social services and providing a universal social protection floor with wide coverage to consolidate and achieve further progress on the MDGs. We resolve to strengthen social protection measures and programmes, including social safety nets and protection programmes for the most vulnerable in particular the poor, through intensified efforts to ensure increased funding, wider coverage, and more robust social protection programmes. In this context, we recognize the important role played by the United Nations development system, multilateral and regional development banks and organizations and urge their continued support in strengthening national social protection measures and programmes.

 

24.  We take note with appreciation of the efforts undertaken by countries in implementing the Delivering as One approach, including by Viet Nam on the basis of the progress of the “One UN” initiative in Viet Nam, as affirmed in the Statement of Outcome and Way Forward of the High-Level Tripartite Conference in Ha Noi in June 2010.

25.  We underscore the crucial role of adequate, consistent and predictable financial resources, at the national and international level in achieving the MDGs. We will enhance efforts to bridge the existing financing gap by mobilizing financial resources from all sources to facilitate the increase of investments in agriculture, human resources, health, water, sanitation, infrastructure and energy, which are critical to achieving the MDGs in the region.

26.  We emphasize that ODA remains essential for the achievement of MDGs in the region.  We recognize the need to manage ODA effectively in donor and recipient countries guided by the principle of national ownership. We call for the full implementation of the provision on ODA, taking into account the national development priorities of developing countries, and supporting pro-poor and poverty reduction policies. We reiterate the importance of achieving the commitments with regard to ODA targets. We also welcome recent efforts and initiatives by all development actors to enhance the quality of aid and to increase its impact. At the same time, continued assistance both financial and technical, should be provided to countries in transit and middle income countries, especially those in the lower middle income group.

27.  We acknowledge the special needs and vulnerabilities, including those of post conflict nature, of Asia and the Pacific Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries, and Small Island Developing States, in their effort to achieve the MDGs, and call upon all development partners to give more attention and sustained financial support in assisting these countries to address their unique challenges, including to enhance the analytical capabilities to accelerate the progress towards the achievement of the MDGs. In this context, promotion of greater international cooperation, including the mobilization of financial resources on a more predictable basis is crucial.

28.  We recognize the role of complementary and innovative sources of financing for development to increase, and supplement traditional sources of financing on a public, private, domestic or international basis for the achievement of MDGs. We will support efforts toward strengthening, and scaling up of existing innovative financing mechanisms, and exploring new ones as appropriate. We will also seek ways to ensure steady, predictable, sustainable and concessional funding to supplement traditional financing mechanisms for MDGs.

29.  We recognize the importance of the participation of the private sector including through public-private partnerships, and corporate social responsibility (CSR), in promoting social investment to complement the financing gap for MDGs. In this context, creating a conducive environment for the private sector to play its key role in enhancing flows of funds, technology and entrepreneurship to developing countries should also be promoted.

30.  We reaffirm our commitment to bringing the Doha round to a successful conclusion as soon as possible, with a comprehensive, balanced, and ambitious outcome that benefits all parties, and makes the Doha Round a round for development. We resolve to reject protectionism and remain open to global and regional trade.

30.We emphasize that regional partnerships and regional cooperation in the field of trade, investment, technology support, infrastructure development, and scaling up of knowledge sharing to promote pro-poor growth, and employment opportunities for all are crucial in  eradication of poverty and hunger and in addressing the specifics concerns of countries with special needs in meeting the MDGs.

31.  We underline that macroeconomic policies should be aimed at sustaining high rates of economic growth, full employment, poverty eradication, and low and stable inflation, and seek to achieve a more balanced growth by minimizing domestic and external imbalances, as well as, a more inclusive and equitable  growth by ensuring that the benefit of growth reach all people, especially the poor. We resolve to strengthen and rebalance growth in the region including through diversifying exports, enhancing regional trade, and domestic consumption.

32.  We support development of agricultural sector productivity through greater and more responsible investment, improved research and development, enhanced agricultural innovation and knowledge management, transfer of technology and human resources development, and focus on small scale farmers. We also underline the importance to enhance support to strengthening agriculture infrastructure in developing countries including through enhance water and land management, development of transport and storage infrastructure,  and comprehensive support throughout the value chain from production to distribution.

33.  We believe that promoting environmental sustainability including through green development, while intensifying efforts for universal access to energy, within the framework of sustainable development, is crucial for Asia and the Pacific region. We will enhance efforts to address the development, and environmental challenges, in a concerted, coherent and effective manner, including through regional cooperation strategies aimed at advancing  sustainable development, and achieving the MDGs.

34.  We reaffirm our strong commitment to intensify efforts to address climate change in accordance with the principles of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) including common but differentiated responsibilities and respective capabilities.  To ensure the successful outcome of the 16th Session of the Conference of the Parties (COP 16) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change serving as the meeting of Parties to the Kyoto Protocol (CMP 6), we also agree to continue to actively contribute to the global efforts to achieve a durable and environmentally effective and equitable global agreement on climate change, as guided by the principles and provisions of the Kyoto Protocol, UNFCCC and Bali  Action Plan. 

34.We recognize the high susceptibility of the region to natural disasters that can reverse the progress in the achievement of the MDGs. We resolve to enhance cooperation to increase capabilities that will allow for effective quick responses to different hazards, including on risk reduction and management, preparedness, rehabilitation, and recovery. We call for the various entities of the United Nations system that have initiated work in this regard to continue with their efforts.

35.  We welcome the partnership between organizations in the region, such as those by the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UNESCAP), the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), and the Asian Development Bank (ADB), that has resulted in several joint regional assessments of progress by Asia and Pacific countries in achieving the MDGs, and call for further joint regional analyses in key MDG areas to support national policy formulation processes. We urge these organizations to play an active role in mobilizing resources, and technology for the region to achieve MDGs.

36.  We request the Government of Indonesia, as host of the Special Ministerial Meeting, to transmit the outcome of the Meeting to the High Level Plenary Meeting of the 65th session of the United Nations General Assembly in New York in September 2010.